Setting up, Managing and testing custom visibilities

Custom visibility is a design rule to define the display rules of a tile, chapter, subchapter, or story.

How does it work?

The visibility parameter is public by default when you create content (tile, chapter, subchapter, story). You can change this behavior to:

  • Completely hide the content in production

  • Display the content based on filters or user group parameters

You can quickly identify the visibility status of your content with a โ€œvisibilityโ€ icon:

  • No icon for public visibility

  • Slashed eye icon for content hidden in production

  • Lock icon for content with a conditional display

You can access the visibility settings by opening the action menu in Staging.

Manage visibility

We will show you how to configure visibility on tiles here, but the process is the same for chapters, subchapters, and stories.

Public and hidden visibility

Letโ€™s say you are working on a draft of the REVENUE TREND tile. You do not want it to be visible in your app in production. So if you click on the visibility icon of this tile, then you can decide to hide it from production:

From there, if you decide to push the app into production, this tile will not appear to anyone.

Now letโ€™s say that you are good with the tile. You want it to be accessible for any view and any user. So you can click on the visibility icon of the tile to make it public:

Custom visibility

Warning

Regarding tiles available in MyFavorites, you must specify Custom Visibilities at the tile level. Those applying at the Category level are ignored, making all tiles in a category with Custom visibility available in MyFavorites for end-users.

You need a more specific visibility configuration for the ZONE and the SPECIES tiles.

You have two ways of setting a custom visibility rule:

  • based on user groups

  • based on App Filters

Custom visibility based on user groups

You have users with a "COMEX" user group, who should be the only ones with access to the tile.

To set this rule, you can:

  • click on the visibility icon of the tile,

  • select โ€œCustomized visibilityโ€

  • specify that the rule will depend on โ€œUser groupsโ€

  • check all the user groups that will have access to the tile

In this case, we check only the โ€œCOMEXโ€ user group.

Setting visibility on user groups is particularly useful when you have an app without a view selector.

Custom visibility based on Filters

You want the tile to be available only for the Filter "Species".

So letโ€™s define a custom visibility rule based on an Filter:

  • click on the visibility icon of the tile,

  • select โ€œCustomized visibilityโ€

  • specify that the rule will depend on โ€œSelected filtersโ€

  • choose the selected value for which you want to display it.

Test visibility

View the app as an existing user

Now you want to test that your visibility rules are OK. To do so, you do not need to push anything in production and test as fake users, for example. You have a very useful staging feature to easily test your visibility settings: you can view the app as another user, with all its user attributes.

Click the "Preview" button on the top nav bar and select the user you want to act as, in the bottom bar.

From there if you can choose to impersonate one of the users with access to the app. You can just click on any user to view the app as this user.

If you want to quit the view and return to the studio, just click on the cross on the right of the bottom toolbar.

View the app as a custom user

Instead of selecting an existing user, you can define a fake, custom user on the fly.

This can be very useful when you need to think ahead and define rules based on user groups before having real users attached to those user groups.

When you are Admin, you can access this feature from the list of existing users you can act as. click on "Custom user".

From there you can select user groups that you want to attach to your user on the fly:

Note that if you are not an Admin, you cannot access the list of users, so clicking on the โ€œView asโ€ icon will bring you directly to this custom user configuration.

Last updated